To Win Professional Connections You Need To Be Personal

Professional and Personal are often put into two different categories in the business setting. Why? How can you reach your employees, staff, organization and stakeholders, if you don’t know anything about them? When you are in the same room with them, knowing how to include them in your vision is critical to mobilizing your people. Your job is not done just when you are on some stage presenting. It means you are giving them your attention when you are face to face.

I recently posted the above cartoon on my Facebook page – The responses are very much aligned to my points below. Although this is displaying a very personal setting- a date. The same is true in a business setting. If you have arranged a face to face meeting with another professional, taking your phone out every two minutes will totally change the “mood”. It can be seen as a sign of disrespect and a sense that the person is not worthy of your attention. I found this wonderful infograph that highlights good reminders on cellphone etiquette by cellphones.org. They certainly can apply to mobile devices.

As it relates to a face to face meetings, do keep the following five tips front of mind.

Be courteous with your mobile device

1. Put your phone on vibrate.

2. Put your phone in your pocket. Do not leave it on the table.

3. If you really have to take a call, make it brief. Share you are busy, you will get back to them and hang up. Then apologize.

4. If you are on call and waiting for an emergency call, advise your partner of such at the beginning of your meeting or lunch.

5. Texting is just as bad as phoning when engaged in a face to face meeting. Don’t do it.

Can you add to the list? What has been your experience?

Have a great meeting!

About Shirley Williams

I have a passion to create, resolve and build.I have had a pretty dynamic career that some say has led to a solid reputation as a visionary, result-driven and passionate leader. I say, simplify the complexity, work WITH people and you have a formula that not only deliver results but forms bonds that will stand the test of time. I have led numerous initiatives with a geographical scope that has included Canada, US, The South Americas,Europe and Australia. My professional career spans Biotechnology, Brand & Generic Pharmaceuticals, IBM Business Consulting Services, Healthcare, Retail, Electronics, more recently Mining and now Social Media. I am a biochemist and have a Master of Scence degree in endocrine pharmacology. I am a certified practitioner and professional in Change Management (Prosci), Project Management (PMP/PMI) and Social Media (OMCP, Online Marketing Certified Professional). So that makes my full title to be: Shirley Williams, MSc. PMP. CMC. OCMP. Having spent many years in the LifeSciences (you can check my career profile on Linkedin ) I have now directed my attention to bridging strategy and goals with social media. Loving it! In fact I am passionate about it. I have also produced and currently host my own internet radio show. My programs to-date have included Rise Of The Patient and Give Startups A Chance. I consider myself as an Experience Enabler. I facilitate and advocate for improved experience from the consumer perspective. Thank you for stopping by to check me out!

4 Responses to “To Win Professional Connections You Need To Be Personal”

  1. Reblogged this on Symphony Placements and commented:
    An interesting article about being personable and how that will help you make more lasting connections.

  2. Shirley, This is wonderful…may it go viral. Just last week I was meeting with an individual who’s phone rang. They proceeded to take the call and begin a detailed business conversation. I walked away. Later they texted me with questions on why I left. I was bewildered. Really they had no clue. Amazing.

    Again great post…and thank you.

    Be encouraged!

    • Shirley Williams Reply April 10, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Thank you Stephen!

      I don’t know when it happened but it did. Our phones have taken priority over people especially those right in front of us. This is my small way of saying, lets make people the priority again. I cannot imagine carrying on a conversation like that- just not in my DNA.

      So glad this resonated with you.
      Thank you for stopping by and providing this feedback.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

