Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release.

Recently, I decided to curate a handful of topics using Thoora and Scoop.it. Very rewarding indeed. As I read and collated my posts, it transported me to the teams I once managed. How many times have you heard Leaders of organizations say “We need to catapult ourselves” into some direction? I know, I have! So many times. However, when strategic planning, problem solving and/or implementing improvements, for the most part organizations tend to jump to solutions. There is a tendency to fire, aim then plan. Yep in that order!  So I use to share what I call a “Shirleyiism” with my team. These are my own glossary of terms whereby I give them my own definitions. Over the years these glossary of terms I now  call Shirleyissms. The term “catapult” I would explain, should not be associated by jumping into action without a plan or direction. If you really analyze the Catapult, you 1) pull it back, 2) aim, 3) build momentum  then 4) release to hit your target or prize.

So, if you are innovating thinking about jumping ahead:

  1. Take stock  (pull back) of where you have been
  2. Identify where you want to go (aim). If you need to close one eye for that precision (operative word is precision), go for it!
  3. Plan and create a buzz to build momentum. Yep, create a frenzy!
  4. Then roll it out (release). Empower your people to do their thing! Empowerment instills confidence and an open environment to win. Unlike below, success will not be postponed!

So, go forward. Be successful.  Be one with the Catapult

If you enjoyed this post, do share it with your network and let me know by giving it a thumbs up!
Thank you for dropping by.
Cartoon used with permission of Cartoonist

About Shirley Williams

I have a passion to create, resolve and build.I have had a pretty dynamic career that some say has led to a solid reputation as a visionary, result-driven and passionate leader. I say, simplify the complexity, work WITH people and you have a formula that not only deliver results but forms bonds that will stand the test of time. I have led numerous initiatives with a geographical scope that has included Canada, US, The South Americas,Europe and Australia. My professional career spans Biotechnology, Brand & Generic Pharmaceuticals, IBM Business Consulting Services, Healthcare, Retail, Electronics, more recently Mining and now Social Media. I am a biochemist and have a Master of Scence degree in endocrine pharmacology. I am a certified practitioner and professional in Change Management (Prosci), Project Management (PMP/PMI) and Social Media (OMCP, Online Marketing Certified Professional). So that makes my full title to be: Shirley Williams, MSc. PMP. CMC. OCMP. Having spent many years in the LifeSciences (you can check my career profile on Linkedin ) I have now directed my attention to bridging strategy and goals with social media. Loving it! In fact I am passionate about it. I have also produced and currently host my own internet radio show. My programs to-date have included Rise Of The Patient and Give Startups A Chance. I consider myself as an Experience Enabler. I facilitate and advocate for improved experience from the consumer perspective. Thank you for stopping by to check me out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release. | Innovators. Innovation. Just Inspired. | Scoop.it - October 10, 2011

    […] Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release. Recently, I decided to curate a handful of topics using Thoora and Scoop.it. Very rewarding indeed. As I read and collated my posts, it transported me to the teams I once managed. How many times ha… Source: williampearl.wordpress.com […]

  2. Management of organizational momentum - October 14, 2011

    […] = ''; } Repository building (and research data management) : day 2Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release.Repository building (and research data management) : day 2Organizations Need To Be One […]

  3. Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release. | THOMAS PROFESSIONALS BUSINESS NEWS, TIPS AND TOOLS | Scoop.it - October 22, 2011

    […] Organizations Need To Be One With The Catapult! Pullback. Aim. Build Momentum. Release. Recently, I decided to curate a handful of topics using Thoora and Scoop.it. Very rewarding indeed. As I read and collated my posts, it transported me to the teams I once managed. How many times ha… Source: williampearl.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

